1Q84

Από το χειρόγραφο του A Wild Sheep Chase του Χαρούκι Μουρακάμι (ελληνικός τίτλος: Το κυνήγι του αγριοπρόβατου, μετάφραση: Στέλιος Παπαζαφειρόπουλος, Καστανιώτης 1993). Δημοσιευμένο στο τεύχος 170 του The Paris Review (καλοκαίρι 2004). Απόσπασμα από τη συνέντευξη του Μουρακάμι στο ίδιο τεύχος:

I myself, as I’m writing, don’t know who did it. The readers and I are on the same ground. When I start to write a story, I don’t know the conclusion at all and I don’t know what’s going to happen next. If there is a murder case as the first thing, I don’t know who the killer is. I write the book because I would like to find out. If I know who the killer is, there’s no purpose to writing the story.

Ο συγγραφέας διά χειρός Τζέφρι Μπράουν, μέσω του Hey Oscar Wilde! Και παρακάτω, η πρώτη παράγραφος από το πολυαναμενόμενο 1Q84 του Μουρακάμι που κυκλοφορεί στα αγγλικά τον Οκτώβριο, όπως δημοσιεύτηκε στο The Millions:

The taxi’s radio was tuned to a classical FM broadcast. Janáček’s Sinfonietta—probably not the ideal music to hear in a taxi caught in traffic. The middle-aged driver didn’t seem to be listening very closely, either. With his mouth clamped shut, he stared straight ahead at the endless line of cars stretching out on the elevated expressway, like a veteran fisherman standing in the bow of his boat, reading the ominous confluence of two currents. Aomame settled into the broad back seat, closed her eyes, and listened to the music.

One thought on “1Q84

  1. Παράθεμα: The strongest fingers in the world « Μαρία Ξυλούρη | Δωμάτιο Πανικού

Σχολιάστε

