What’s wrong with smoke and mirrors?

191252-01842591

Ο Ντέιβιντ Μίτσελ σε μια συζήτηση με αφορμή το The Bone Clocks, το νέο του μυθιστόρημα που κυκλοφορεί σήμερα:

You might find people saying, “He monkeys with structure, he monkeys with dialect. There’s the whizbang of futuristic scenarios. Is this all a lot of smoke and mirrors?”

And what’s wrong with smoke and mirrors?

What I mean is, is your work a bit about showing off?

If it is, I’m failing. The principle is you create a character the reader cares about, and then you taunt the reader with the fear that bad things will be happening to this character. Then you can hear your iPhone buzzing in the background when you’re turning the pages and you’re going to ignore it. When I was a kid reading A Wizard of Earthsea, by Ursula Le Guin, I thought, “What’s going to happen to this wizard guy? I have to know.” I got to the end of it thinking, “Christ, I want to do that. I want to do that to other people.” And I still do.

What do you think of the romance and stereotypes surrounding being a writer? Smoking and living in a garret and being a bit of a tyrant—that sort of thing. Did you believe in that starting out?

I’ve tried smoking once or twice in my late teens to impress girls, but I only ever ended up vomiting on them, which does not seal the deal. Poverty is crap. It’s not at all inspiring. And good work might get written by selfish pricks, but it’s despite the fact they’re selfish pricks.

Απόσπασμα από το βιβλίο | “The Right Sort”, διήγημα που διαδραματίζεται στο σύμπαν του βιβλίου και δημοσιεύτηκε στο twitter | Ένας περίπατος με τον Μίτσελ

BoneClocks

Σχολιάστε

